Six Sigma, a breakthrough strategy for profitability

Six Sigma is a business management strategy which is followed to enhance the efficiency of the business. The concept was initially developed by Bill Smith, an engineer at Motorola, in the year 1986. However, the first use of Six Sigma methodology as a business strategy was done by Jack Welch at General Electric in 1995. Now, it is being used by most of the industries in the world. With the varying application of its methodology, different levels of Six Sigma came into existence.

What are the various levels in Six Sigma?

Six Sigma with increasing difficulty and importance is divided into three different levels. Which are-
Level 1- Six Sigma Green Belt.
Level 2- Six Sigma Black Belt.
Level 3- Six Sigma Master Black Belt.

Before we open the layers of each one of the above levels of Six Sigma, let us first understand what is the basic concept behind this world-famous methodology…

What actually Six Sigma does

Six Sigma is a detector; it basically identifies the defects and errors in the manufacturing system and removes them. This is how it makes the business processing system more transparent and effective.

Level 1-2-3 in Six Sigma-

Level 1 (Six Sigma Green Belt)- The Six Sigma Green Belt course teaches you the basic but important tactics to manage the quality in the business procedure and to create a team of experts in the related field; it also gives you the in-depth understanding of the statistical methods. The core principle for Six Sigma is- DMAIC, which stands for Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control.

Level 2 (Six Sigma Black Belt)- Six Sigma Black Belt is a level ahead of green belt. It gets you the in and out of six sigma tools and how to use the specialized statistical software, philosophies, and principles of Six Sigma. Once you complete the black belt course you become a master in managing the team, allocating the tasks to the team members or accomplishing the target well on time, you can understand the dynamics of a team well with the black belt course.

Level 3 (Six Sigma Master Black Belt)- Master Black belts bring you expertise in the strategic deployment of Six Sigma within an organization. You learn the tactics to promote and support improvement activities in all business areas of an organization. You can mentor the Six Sigma teams sort out specific problems with the use of an appropriate tool.

Being a Six Sigma certified professional itself speaks volume about you capabilities to tackle the challenges into a business system and this also increases your value within the organization.